Britain's short list for MX of Nations announced.

26 June 2010

After a recent meeting with members of the ACU Motocross Committee, Steve Dixon, the Team Manager has announced a short list of five possible riders for the 2010 MX of Nations to be held at the end of September.
The three riders who will actually represent Team GB will be chosen from, Brad Anderson, Max Anstie, Jake Nicholls, Tommy Searle and Shaun Simpson. At the meeting all logistics of the event were discussed and Mr Dixon is now talking with each rider and Team Manager over various issues which will determine the availability of the five named above.

Dixon said, " I have given a lot of thought before announcing the five man squad. Obviously, there are other riders who may have felt they should have been listed, especially as we do not currently have a top ten contender in the MX1 World Championship. However, with the 350 KTM now being available and proven to be competitive, there is a possibility that either, or both, of our MX1 and MX Open riders could be on a 350".

Motocross Chairman, Brian Higgins added, "We have given the job of Team Manager to Steve Dixon and we have every confidence in his decision when it comes to the final three. Steve's vast knowledge at world level is invaluable and he also has the contacts to get data from Manufacturers for setting up the bikes at high altitude, which the Denver circuit is".

The event takes place at the end of September and it is likely that the final selection will not be made until the last minute as last year the ACU had to change riders twice, through injuries leading up to the Italian event.

Our picture shows Simpson in action in 2009.