A look at the points

30 May 2010

With just two weeks to go to the next round and three of the eight events completed, we thought this would be a good time to have a look at the points scorers in our domestic championship and put some facts together!

Starting with the MXY2 class, who have only had one round so far this year (Mallory Park in March), 24 riders have scored points, but at the sharp end only Bradley Pocock (MGP -Dixon- Cosworth Yamaha and Connor Walkley (Team Green Kawasaki) have been able to put two consistent rides together, with just seven points between them.

However, having already raced nine motos, 33 riders have scored points in MX2, with our two top GP riders, Osborne and Nicholls at the top of the standings, we have to go down to 11th place to find Kawasaki's new signing, Bryan MacKenzie, Luke Hawkins (PAR Honda) and a returning from injury Graeme Irwin (HMPlant Red Bull KTM UK) (pictured) all sharing 79 points. More GP stars, Roczen and Tonus come next and their tally may well be raised later in the year if they make a return visit to the UK, whilst down in 27th position, Will Worden ( Wheeldon Suzuki), Sunny Thompson (Samsung Yamaha and Anthony Reville (TRM CAS Honda) have generally scored points in different motos and will continue their battle at Cadders Hill.

We find even more scorers in MX1 - 37 in fact, with Russian CAS Honda rider Evgeny Bobreshev beginning to edge away from Buildbase CCM's Stephen Sword. Mickael Pichon's single visit to Mallory Park stands out in 13th position and he may well be back for the Foxhill round in July. Again, further down the field in 29th position we find a three way tie between Joanas Algotsson, Max Nyberg and Jamie Skuse, whilst Dorren Coutts and James Lassau have scored their single points in different motos.

A full list of all points scorers can be found in the results section of this website.

The next round of the championship takes place on Sunday 13th June at Cadders Hill, Lyng in Norfolk.