Foreign Riders continue to dominate at Mallory Park

21 March 2010

In a dazzling display, Teka Suzuki Europe rider, Ken Roczen dominated the MX2 class at Mallory Park in Leicestershire today, not only winning the Q1 and Q2 qualifying sessions, but all three motos as well! His team mate, Arnaud Tonus, stood on the second step of the podium whilst third overall was good enough for Jake Nicholls (HM Plant Red Bull KTM) to take home the red plate as championship leader. Both Neville Bradshaw (Samsung Yamaha) and Martin Barr (PAR Honda) put in consistent rides to take fourth and fifth ahead of the Championship leader after round one at Exeter three weeks ago, Zach Osborne (Bike It Cosworth Yamaha) who recovered from a first race DNF to claim two third spots.

The MX1 class threw up three different race winners with Russian CAS Honda rider, Evgeny Bobreshev eventually taking the top spot after his second moto win being backed up by a solid third and fourth place. His fellow CAS rider, Gareth Swanepoel won the opening 20 minute moto whilst MAR Honda guest rider, Mickael Pichon, improved on his opening eigth and fourth places to just miss out on the podium, with a final race win, which was taken by Scott Elderfield who was making his championship debut in the MX1 category on his PAR Honda. Stephen Sword, (Buildbase CCM) returned to form with solid scoring of fifth and two second places as the circuit dried out to perfect conditions for the final motos. Brad Anderson (PAR Honda) the championship leader going into the event, had a day to forget with 13th, 3rd and 9th places in the three motos to take eigth overall!

In the supporting MXY2 class, Bradley Pocock took the overall followed by Connor Walkley and Matt Bayliss.

The series now takes a six week break whilst the top teams start their GP campaign, ahead of the next round at Duns, in the Scottish Borders on May 2nd.